You are in: Home / ESUO / Countries



Austria ESUO delegates
Dr. Stangl J., Dr. Lechner R.
National User Organisation
NESY - Physics using Neutron and Synchrotron Sources


Bulgaria ESUO delegates
Associate Prof. Tatchev D.


Croatia ESUO delegates
Dr. Buljan M.

Czech Republic

Czech Republic ESUO delegates
Dr. Mikulík P.


Denmark ESUO delegates
Prof. Nielsen M.
National User Organisation


Estonia ESUO delegates
Dr. Kikas A.


Finland ESUO delegates
Dr. Huotari S., Dr. Kajander T.
National User Organisation
FSRUO - Finnish Synchrotron Radiation Users’ Organization


The French community of synchrotron and XFEL encompasses on a yearly basis more than 2000 users who are working in industry or French public scientific research organizations. Two synchrotron sources are located in France in 2016: the European synchrotron ESRF inaugurated in 1994 and located at Grenoble in the south-east of France (43 beamlines, about 6500 scientists from around the world per year), and the French synchrotron SOLEIL inaugurated in 2006 and located at Saint-Aubin in south-west of Paris (26 beamlines, about 2000 scientists per year).
France ESUO delegates
Dr. d’Astuto M., Dr. Gourrier A., Dr. Lyonnard S., Dr. Renault L.
National User Organisation
AFURS - Association Française des Utilisateurs de Rayonnement Synchrotron (French organization of Synchroton and XFEL Radiation Users)


Germany is a country in the middle of Europe. It is hosting 2 synchrotron Radiation Facilities, PETRA III at DESY in Hamburg providing hard x-ray radiation and BESSY II at HZB in Berlin serving users in soft x-ray range. In addition the soft FEL source FLASH is hosted at DESY and the IR FEL FELBE in Dresden Rossendorf. Germany held shares of 23% at European Synchrotron Radiation Facility and is hosting the European XFEL expecting first users in 2018.
Germany ESUO delegates
Prof. Dr. Pietsch U., Dr. Casu B.
National User Organisation
KFS - Komittee für Forschung mit Synchrotronstrahlung


20-30 Greek research groups are making regular or sporadic use of European synchrotrons or FELs. Scientific interests are equally distributed among biology, physics, chemistry and materials.
Greece ESUO delegates
Prof. Kokkinidis M.
National User Organisation
- Greek synchrotron radiation society (under construction)


Hungary, a member of the European Union, is situated in the centre of the European continent, in its eastern part, within the Carpathian Basin, bordering Austria, Croatia, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia and Ukraine.
Hungary ESUO delegates
Dr. Kövér L., Dr. Vankó G.
National User Organisation
HSC (In Hungarian: MSZB) - Hungarian Synchrotron Committee (In Hungarian: Magyar Szinkrotron Bizottság)


Ireland ESUO delegates
Dr. McGuinness C., Khan A.
National User Organisation
ISUO - Irish Synchrotron, Free Electron Laser, Neutron and Muon Facility Users Organisation


Israel ESUO delegates
Prof. Pokroy B.


Italy ESUO delegates
Prof. Mariani C., Prof. Boscherini F., Dr. Gross S., Dr. Lamba D.
National User Organisation
SILS - Italian synchrotron radiation society


The Republic of Latvia (member of the European Union and Eurozone) is a small (2 million habitant) and open economy with deep links to the European Union.
Latvia ESUO delegates
Prof. Dr. Hab. Purans J.


Lithuania ESUO delegates
Dr. Mickevicius S.


Academic ad industrial researchers in the Netherlands apply synchrotron radiation and free electron lasers for research in Materials science / Solid state physics / Hard condensed matter, Structural biology / Protein X-ray crystallography, Polymer chemistry / Soft condensed matter / Colloids, and Catalysis.
Netherlands ESUO delegates
Dr. Feiters M., Dr. Tromp M., Dr. Petukhov A.
National User Organisation
ONG-DUBBLE - Organization of Dutch Users of the Dutch-Belgian Beamline at the ESRF


Norway has an active user community located at major universities and research institutes. Since no national SR-facility exists, access to other European sources is a prerequisite for the Norwegian scientific activity.
Norway ESUO delegates
Prof. Larsen H.


Poland ESUO delegates
Prof. Dr. Jablonska K.
National User Organisation
PTPS - Polskie Towarzystwo Promieniowania Synchrotronowego (Polish Synchrotron Radiation Society)


Portugal ESUO delegates
Prof. Braz Fernandes F.


Republic of Serbia is situated between Central and Southeast Europe. The capital of Serbia is Belgrade, it is the largest city with more than 1.7 million residents. Serbia is a member of the UN, CoE, OSCE, PfP, BSEC (Organization of the Black Sea Economic Cooperation), and CEFTA (Central European Free Trade Agreement). As a membership candidate, Serbia is currently negotiating its EU accession. The country is acceding to the WTO and is a militarily neutral state. Serbia is an upper-middle income economy with dominant service sector, followed by the industrial sector and agriculture. The country ranks high in Social Progress Index (45th) [1], in Human Development Index (66th) [2] and an economically moderately free country (77th) [3]. ([1] "Social Progress Imperative(2015)". SPI. 5 November 2015. Retrieved 5 November 2015; [2]; [3]
Serbia ESUO delegates
Dr. Marinkovic B.


Slovakia ESUO delegates
Dr. Jergel M.


Slovenian synchrotron user community consists of about 30 to 40 active SR users, researchers at Slovenian universities or national research institutes, working in different scientific fields (physics, material science, biology, chemistry, surface science, pharmacology, environmental sciences, SR and FEL instrumentation, etc.), using different European synchrotron radiation sources: ESRF, ELETTRA, DESY, SOLEIL, SLS, MAXIV, etc.
Slovenia ESUO delegates
Prof. Dr. Arčon I.


Spain ESUO delegates
Dr. López O., Dr. Santoro G.
National User Organisation
AUSE - Asociación de Usuarios de Sincrotrón de España (Spanish Synchrotron User Association)


Switzerland ESUO delegates
Dr. Froideval A.


Turkey is a transcontinental country located in Southeastern Europe and Southwestern Asia bordering the Black Sea. Neighboring countries include Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bulgaria, Georgia, Greece, Iran, Iraq, and Syria. The geography of Turkey consists of narrow coastal plains in the west that become increasingly rugged as they progress eastward. The government system is a republican parliamentary democracy. Turkey has a mixed economy in which there is a growing private sector combined with centralized economic planning and government regulation.
Turkey ESUO delegates
Prof. Dr. Arikan P., Dr. Kurtuluş Öztürk Ö.
National User Organisations
TARLA - Turkish Accelerator and Radiation Laboratory in Ankara
TURKAY - Turkish Light Sources Users Organization

United Kingdom

The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, is commonly known as the United Kingdom (UK) or Britain. Lying off the north-western coast of the European mainland, it includes the island of Great Britain (a term also applied loosely to refer to the whole country), the north-eastern part of the island of Ireland and many smaller islands. Northern Ireland is the only part of the UK that shares a land border with another state – i.e. the Republic of Ireland. Apart from this land border, the UK is surrounded by the Atlantic Ocean, with the North Sea to its east, the English Channel to its south and the Celtic Sea to its south-southwest. The Irish Sea lies between Great Britain and Ireland. With an area of 93,800 square miles (243,000 km2), the UK is the 80th-largest sovereign state in the world and the 11th largest in Europe. It is also is the 22nd-most populous country, with an estimated 64.5 million inhabitants.
United Kingdom ESUO delegates
Dr. Hase T.
last update by ESUO admin on 3/21/2016 2:22:57 PM



wayforlight is an initiative of the European I3 project CALIPSO

an integrating initiative supported under the European Commission Framework Programmes

Copyright wayforlight © 2011 - 2014
web design by promoscience