You are in: Home / ESUO / Countries / Austria


Austria has an active community of synchrotron users, with roughly 100 scientists from most Austrian universities and the Austrian Academy of Sciences regularly performing experiments with synchrotron radiation, using all European and many other synchrotrons.

The users are organized in a division of the Austrian Physical Society on the use of Neutron and Synchrotron radiation (NESY, insert link (missing up-to-now)), which regularly organizes meetings and a biannual winterschool (see:

Austria is associated member of the ESRF, and operates a beamline at ELETTRA specialized in small-angle x-ray scattering.




Dr. Julian Stangl
ESUO representative, ESUO EC member
Johannes Kepler University Linz

Dr. Rainer T. Lechner
ESUO representative
Montanuniversity Leoben

National User Organisation

NESY - Physics using Neutron and Synchrotron Sources

NESY is a division of the Austrian Physical Society and represents the Austrian users of Neutron, Synchrotron and Free Electron Laser sources. It organizes regular scientific meetings (annually as part of the meeting of the Austrian Physical Society) and a biannual Winter school.

Visit NESY Website »

NESY Chair

  • Chair: Gerhard Krexner, University of Vienna, Vienna, Austria,
  • Co-Chair: Julian Stangl, Johannes Kepler University,  Linz, Austria,
last update by ESUO admin on 3/21/2016 2:02:53 PM



wayforlight is an initiative of the European I3 project CALIPSO

an integrating initiative supported under the European Commission Framework Programmes

Copyright wayforlight © 2011 - 2014
web design by promoscience