The Belgium synchrotron user community consists of about 130 active users from 12 Universities and different Researcher Centers. Belgium and The Netherlands have formed a consortium (BENESYNC) that participates in the European Synchrotron Radiation Facility in Grenoble, France.

Belgium has no formal national synchrotron user organization. However, Belgium has stablished a National Accompanying Committee for Synchrotron Radiation and Neutrons (NAC SRN) supported by the Belgian Science Policy (BELSPO). The committee is composed of a representative of each Belgium University and Research center.

There is no national funding scheme for the support of access to SR and FEL facilities. The NAC SRN strongly supports the ESUO initiative for open access to synchrotron and XFELs based on scientific excellence.

Dr. Carla Bittencourt
Research Associate of the National Fund for Scientific Research (FNRS)
University of Mons
in partnership with